

Letter of Award Chief's Citation Award



To:Major Crimes UnitFrom:Frank G. Straub, Chief of PoliceDate:January 15, 2013Re:Chief's Citation Award

The Major Crimes Unit has been nominated to receive the Chief's Citation Award. This award is intended to recognize members of a team or unit for participating in an incident, event, or series of events, or project which has a substantial, positive impact on the community or police department. It must be superior in nature and further the department's mission and overall effectiveness. When the Special Awards Committee reviewed this nomination, it was clear that that the Major Crimes Unit is most deserving of this award.

The Spokane Police Major Crimes Unit has experienced a number of challenges during 2012. The incidents that have occurred have taxed each and every member that has worked in Major Crimes. During 2012, Major Crimes responded to and investigated 14 homicides, nine vehicular homicides, several officer involved shootings and numerous robberies. This caseload for investigators is unprecedented.

Members of the Major Crimes Unit: Lieutenant Joe Walker Detective Jeff Barrington Det. Ben Estes Det. Chet Gilmore Detective Kip Hollenbeck Detective Jan Pogachar Corporal Brad Hallock Clerk II Kiley Friesen

Sergeant Mark Griffiths Detective Mark Burbridge Det. Neil Gallion Detective Marty Hill Detective Tim Madsen Corporal Mike Carr Clerk III Suzette Charbonneau Records Specialist Anne Lockwood

I am honored to present the Major Crimes Unit with the Chief's Citation Award. You will be recognized and presented with a plaque at our annual Awards ceremony on February 21, 2013. A copy of this document will be placed in your personnel files.

Frank G. Straub, Jr. Chief of Police