STANDING COMMITTEE MINUTES City of Spokane Public Safety and Community Health August 28, 2023

Call to Order: 10:32 a.m.

Recording of the meeting may be viewed here: https://vimeo.com/833465700

Attendance

Committee Members Present: CM Cathcart (Chair), CM Stratton, CM Wilkerson, CM Bingle (virtual), CM Zappone (arrived late)

CP Kinnear was absent.

Staff/Others Present: Chief Meidl, Giacobbe Byrd, Chris Wright, Sarah Thompson, Dan Waters, Chief Schaeffer, Shawna Ernst, Steve Wohl, Rob McCann, Michael McNab, Eric Olsen

Approval of Minutes

Action taken

CM Wilkerson moved to approve the minutes; the motion was seconded by CM Stratton. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Agenda Items

Discussion items

- 1. Fire Department Update
 - Action taken

Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.

- 2. Police Department Update
 - Action taken

Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.

- 3. Byrne Discretionary Community Project Grant Award Discussion
 - Action taken

Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.

- 4. Inspector General Resolution
 - Action taken

Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.

- 5. Massage Parlor/Reflexology Ordinance
 - Action taken

Page 11

Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.

- 6. Discussion on SCRAPS Oversight and Concerns
 - Action taken

Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.

- 7. Daytime Safety in Spokane Parks
 - Action taken
 - Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.
- 8. Independent Investigation Resolution
 - Action taken
 - Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.
- 9. Hillyard Library Clean Air Issues
 - Action taken
 - Presentation and Introduction only, no action was taken.
- 10. SBO for Congressional Designated Spending Funds for DV Intervention
 - Action taken

Presentation and discussion only, no action was taken.

Consent items

None.

Executive session

None.

<u>Adjournment</u> The meeting adjourned at 11:44 a.m.

Prepared by: Shae Blackwell

Approved by:

Council Member Michael Cathcart PSCHC Committee Chair