# **Spokane Transportation Commission - Minutes**

#### Wednesday, May 21, 2025

Hybrid Meeting in City Hall Council Chambers & Microsoft Teams Teleconference

Meeting Minutes: Transportation Commission Workshop called to order at 4:00 pm by President Grant Shipley

<u>Public Comment</u>: Citizens are invited to address the Transportation Commission on any topic not on the agenda. 3 Minutes each.

• Jim Simon, Logan Neighborhood Resident

## **Liaison Comments**: None

# Attendance for Plan Commission Workshop:

- Board Members Present: Grant Shipley, Rhonda Young, Raychel Callary, Joni Harris, Kaylee Jackman, Lauren Pangborn, Mike Bjordahl, Dylan Jouliot
- Board Members Not Present: None
- Non-Voting Members Present: SRTC, NEPDA, Community Assembly, Plan Commission
- Non-Voting Members Not present: STA, WSDOT, SRHD, PBIA East Sprague, DSP/Downtown PBIA, U District, S3R3, SPS
- Quorum Present: Yes
- Staff Members Present: Angie McCall, Emily King, Jon Snyder, Clint Harris, Chris Cafaro, Abbey Martin, Kevin Picanco, Spencer Gardner, Marlene Feist, Brian Brisendine, Tim Fischer, Inga Note, Jesten Ray, Luis Garcia, Sarah Sirott, Marcia Davis

<u>Minutes:</u> Minutes from 3/19/2025 and the combined Plan Commission and Transportation Commission minutes from 4/09/25 were approved unanimously.

# **Briefing Session:**

- Commission President Report Grant Shipley
  - Grant shared that today will mark the first item that the Transportation Commission will be voting on to recommend to City Council.
- Secretary Report Jon Snyder
  - Jon had a couple things to discuss:
    - He wanted to welcome everyone to the new location (Council Chambers). He stated
      that they will be using this room for the rest of this year except for July as there is a
      scheduling conflict during that month. He is thinking of having the July meeting be a
      tour of some sort with more details to come at the June meeting.
    - The last moment of the legislative session was yesterday when the governor finished signing all of the remaining bills including the transportation budget. He dispersed recap paper copies to the commissioners of all of the budget line items and policy items that went through or failed from that session.

Current Agenda: The current agenda was approved unanimously.

#### Workshop(s):

• Official Vote for Transportation Commission Location

# Motion:

I [Mike Bjordahl] move to change the location of the Transportation Commission to City Hall, Council Chambers. Seconded by Dylan Jouliot.

Motion passes unanimously: 8-0-0.

- Transit Development Plan Update
  - o Presentation provided by Madeline Arredondo, (STA).
  - Questions asked and answered by Madeline Arredondo and Tia Limon (STA).
  - Discussion ensued.
- TBD (Transportation Benefit District) Annual Report
  - Presentation provided by Abbey Martin.
  - Questions asked and answered.
  - Discussion ensued.
- TBD 2026 Project Process
  - o Presentation provided by Clint Harris & Chris Cafaro.
  - Questions asked and answered.
  - Discussion ensued.
- Parking Services Plan and Programs
  - o Presentation provided by Luis Garcia.
  - Questions asked and answered.
  - o Discussion ensued.

#### Hearing(s):

- Complete Streets Ordinance Recommendation
  - Presentation provided by Jon Snyder.
  - Questions asked and answered.
  - o Discussion ensued.
  - Public Testimony:
    - Paul Kropp

#### Motions:

- I [Lauren Pangborn] move to amend section 8.A.3 with when future development is in the process of permitting or has been permitted for development within the next six years.
   Seconded by Joni Harris.
  - Amendment passes unanimously, 8-0-0.
- I [Lauren Pangborn] move to progress this forward as amended. Seconded by Dylan Jouliot.
  - Motion passes 7-0-1.

Meeting Adjourned at 6:22 PM.

The next regularly scheduled Transportation Commission meeting is scheduled for June 18, 2025.