# **Spokane Plan Commission - Minutes**

## Wednesday, November 13, 2024

Hybrid Meeting in Council Briefing Center & Microsoft Teams Teleconference

Meeting Minutes: Plan Commission Workshop called to order at 2:00 pm by President Greg Francis.

<u>Public Comment</u>: Citizens are invited to address the Plan Commission on any topic not on the agenda. 3 Minutes each.

None

## Attendance for Plan Commission Workshop:

- Board Members Present: Greg Francis (President), Ryan Patterson (Vice President), Jesse Bank, David Edwards, Amber Lenhart, Saundra Neperud, Carole Shook, Tim Williams, Jill Yotz
- Board Members Not Present: None
- Non-Voting Members Present: Mary Winkes (Community Assembly Liaison)
- Non-Voting Members Not present: Kitty Klitzke (Council Member Liaison)
- Quorum Present: Yes
- Staff Members Present: Spencer Gardner, Angie McCall, Emily King, Teri Stripes, Tyler Kimbrell, KayCee Downey, Ryan Shea, Tim Thompson, Jackie Churchill, Colin Quinn-Hurst, Brandon Whitmarsh, Maren Murphy, Della Mutungi, Ryan Benzie, Tim Fischer, Kevin Freibott, Tirrell Black, Steve MacDonald, Amanda Beck, Jesten Ray, Luis Garcia

Minutes: Minutes from 10/23/2024 approved unanimously.

## **Briefing Session:**

- Community Assembly Liaison Report Mary Winkes
  - Mary had nothing to report.
- Commission President Report Greg Francis
  - President Greg Francis stated that he had nothing to report.
  - There will be no meetings on November 27<sup>th</sup> or December 25<sup>th</sup>.
- Secretary Report Spencer Gardner
  - Spencer discussed notifications that went to members' City emails regarding receiving notification to personal emails. If members wish to receive notifications, people must opt in. The downside is that personal email addresses would be public record.
  - Something will be added to the Plan Commission website for people to sign up for email notifications
  - Spencer also introduced Emily King as additional clerk who will be back up to Angie.
  - Transportation Commission will meet for the first time next week.
  - Climate Resilience and Sustainability Board has been created, but dates have not yet been set.

Current Agenda: The current agenda was approved unanimously.

### Workshop(s):

- Selection of Transportation Commission Liaison
  - o Presentation provided by staff member Spencer Gardner.
  - Questions asked and answered.

- o Discussion ensued.
  - i. The selected liaison will be added to the briefing portion of the meeting and will be responsible to report back to the Plan Commission. The term will last two years, subject to renewal. Ryan Patterson was appointed as liaison to the Transportation Commission.
- Consideration of Resolution in Support of 27 by 2027 Urban Mobility Network Proposal
  - o Presentation provided by staff member Spencer Gardner.
  - Questions asked and answered.
  - Discussion ensued.
  - I [Ryan Patterson] move that we pass a resolution in support of the 27 by 2027 Urban Mobility Network Proposal. I second [Amber Lenhart]. Motion passes 8 to 0 to 1.
- Presentation from Co-Author of <u>Escaping the Housing Trap</u>
  - o Presentation provided by Daniel Herriges.
  - Questions asked and answered.
  - o Discussion ensued.

Workshop Adjourned at 3:46 PM.

Next regularly scheduled Plan Commission meeting will be held on Wednesday, December 11, 2024.

Hearing Minutes: Plan Commission Hearing called to order at 4:00pm by President Greg Francis.

## **Attendance for Plan Commission Workshop:**

- Board Members Present: Greg Francis (President), Ryan Patterson (Vice President), Jesse Bank,
   David Edwards, Amber Lenhart, Saundra Neperud, Carole Shook, Tim Williams, Jill Yotz
- Board Members Not Present: None
- Non-Voting Members Present: Mary Winkes (Community Assembly Liaison)
- Non-Voting Members Not present: Kitty Klitzke (Council Member Liaison)
- Quorum Present: Yes

## Hearing(s):

• BOH follow up (amending the following SMC sections:

17A.020.060

17C.111.205, 210, 220, 235, 310, 315, 320, 325, 335, 420, 450

17C.230.020, 100, 110, 120, 130, 140

17G.080.040, 065)

- o Presentation provided by staff member Ryan Shea
- Questions asked and answered
- o Discussion ensued
- No public testimony

#### Motion

- I [VP Ryan Patterson] move that we [Plan Commission] recommend the BOH follow up amendments to the SMC sections as presented by staff. Seconded by Commissioner Bank. Deliberation ensued.
- Motion as amended passes unanimously 9-0-0.

Voted for by name: President Greg Francis, Vice President Ryan Patterson, Jesse Bank, David Edwards, Amber Lenhart, Saundra Neperud, Carole Shook, Tim Williams, Jill Yotz.

- Amendment A: I [VP Ryan Patterson] move that we [Plan Commission] recommend a change to section 17C.111.205 the development standards table to remove the minimum lot width with driveway approach line and update the minimum lot width line to also remove the no driveway approach. Also include the footnote which talks about driveways. Seconded by Commissioner Bank.

  Deliberation ensued.
  - Motion passes unanimously, 9-0-0.
- Amendment B: I [Ryan Patterson] would also like to move that we recommend the change to section 17C.111.315 that deals with entrances; specifically, that a recessed entryway can have a door that does not face the street, including an updated visual example. Seconded by Commissioner Yotz.

  Deliberation ensued.
  - Motion passes unanimously, 9-0-0.
- **Amendment C**: I [Ryan Patterson] move that we recommend the updates to section 17C.111.310 to correct the mention of outdoor area to open space to be consistent with the rest of the code. Seconded by Commissioner Yotz.

Deliberation ensued.

- O Motion passes unanimously, 9-0-0.
- Amendment D: I [Ryan Patterson] recommend that we recommend the changes to 17C.111.325 dealing with the articulation to correct the included visual example to a 40-foot max to match the written text. Seconded by Commissioner Bank. Deliberation ensued.
  - Motion passes unanimously, 9-0-0.

Hearing Adjourned at 4:49PM.

Next regularly scheduled Plan Commission Meeting is on Wednesday, December 11th, 2024.